Adventures for the wee folk in our lives

Adventure can be found anywhere.  Really!  I’m not trying to be cliché.  To me, adventure is any time you’re trying something new, challenging, or getting out and learning.  Any time there’s a chance to “fail,” you are on an adventure.  And believe me, there are LOTS of opportunities for me to fail, as a parent, a person, someone’s child, wife… the list goes on.

As a kid, adventure is everywhere, and failure is not seen as a negative… it’s not even noticed because it’s imbedded in the process.  Because of that, having an adventure can be as easy as watching the bubbles spin down the drain (regardless of the mess), or run through your fingers (despite the waste of water).  It can be discovering that worms are alive, and have the ability to move on their own (even if they’re on dry land and half squished already).  It can be practicing the art of changing a stuffy’s diaper (complete with diaper cream).  And it can even be sitting on an adventure blanket, with doughnuts in hand, watching a busy construction zone, telling your mama, “I grow up, I do that some times.”  Yes, that can be an adventure to someone who is still very small.  Failure does not exist, and never enters the mind for these wee folk.  It’s all just part of the process – not good; not bad; just part of the process.

One of the best things that has happened to me on my adventure as a parent, has been the opportunity to see the world through the eyes of someone who is unafraid of failure, because for them, it doesn’t exist.  For my kids, the opportunity to explore is still found in the most simple of things.  Perhaps some would call that naivety, but I see it as a gift.  And I hope, for their sake (and the rest of the worlds) that they can hold onto that perspective for longer than I did.  It just might be what the world needs right now.

Here’s to the adventures and the failures that out there waiting for all of us!

(To order your own adventure blanket.  Visit my Etsy shop here!)

2 Comments

  1. This is the right website for anybody who would like to find out about this topic. You realize a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you (not that I actually will need laugh out loud). You certainly put a new spin on a topic which has been discussed for many years. Wonderful stuff, just great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

