Better than beef

“Nothing with a face.”  That used to be my dietary descriptor.

“2 food groups: things that go well with chocolate and things that go well with cheese.”  That used to be the subtitle to my dietary descriptor.

Now it goes a little more like this: “Nothing with a face, except wild caught Alaskan salmon.  Nothing from a cow, that means cheeses and creams are out. Nothing from a soy bean, including soy lecithin, soy sauce, tempeh, hoisin sauce, etc.”

Eating used to be so simple.  I could always find something to eat, no matter where we traveled.  And now eating out (or eating at all) takes a lot more effort and thought.  “Quick meals,” have been rendered obsolete.

At first this was a point of frustration.  I LOVE to eat, and I really really don’t like to cook, especially complicated meals.  But now, when given the option to go out or stay in, order out or cook… I almost always choose to cook.  It tastes good (restaurant food doesn’t taste as good when you have so many substitutions and omissions) and it doesn’t hurt me (there’s always hidden ingredients at restaurants through no fault of their own).

So.  Now I cook.  Three times (and often more) a day.  I cook for my family members who don’t eat eggs, and then I cook for my family members who don’t eat dairy or soy, and then I cook for my family members who eat anything and everything that we don’t eat (and sometimes I even cook for the dog).  I guess that means I cook more than three times a day.

Eating used to be simple.  Cooking used to be really simple (or nonexistent).  But the crazy thing is, now that I’m cooking more, and eating less of the quick off-the-shelf foods, my diet is the most simple it ever has been.  Hmmm… I don’t think I’ll ever understand that.

Leave a Reply

