My Mini Makers

Both my boys are “makers.”  Whether it’s fairy gardens outside, or rocket ships with recycled materials, they are at their most engaged when they take a collection of items and create something new.  But my littlest guy is at his happiest when it’s liquids mixed with solids – sand and water, rocks and mud, flour and oil.  My bigger one has his preferences that strongly resemble museum displays (complete with accurate era consistency).  Sure it’s a messy endeavor, but parenting is messy!  They both engage with creativity in ways that are beyond what I discovered as a child and I am constantly learning new ways to be creative myself.  However, I may draw the line at bringing water and oil into our indoor sand box though – but at least I was willing to give in to an indoor sand box!  Now that’s bravery.

 

 

Leave a Reply

