Ah… such is the good life.

It’s been too long since I’ve had time to sit down and write.

Wait.  I take that back.

It feels like it’s been a long time since I’ve had time to sit down and write.

Nope.  Still not right.

It feels like it’s been a long time since I’ve prioritized time to sit down and write.

There.  That’s it.

Life with family, and life on spring break, and life when transition is happening, is full.  Sometimes too full.  And when I find myself in that “too full” place, I try to remind myself to keep that sense of overwhelmed-ness at bay and to just do what’s in front of me.

So, I’ve spent time with friends and family.  I’ve traveled to the city (for the first time in over a year… boy was that an overwhelming experience).  I’ve cooked really good food for my family.  I’ve nursed my cold (and my toddlers cold).  I’ve purchased pants for both boys (because they apparently grew over night and none of their current pants fit anymore).  I’ve made two more wool pincushions, and I’ve prepared for another order of Adventure Blankets.  We’ve completed our taxes, and purchased an updated iPhone, and soon we will welcome friends to our messy house once more.

It’s been a full week – and at times, when I’ve felt my heart rate increasing, I’ve reminded my self of two things: 1) all of these events are choices I’ve made and am in control of, and  2) when there’s nothing I can do to help a situation, I can always choose to slow down and do what’s in front of me.

And so here we are in the final stretch of our spring break and we have two more visits with good friends planned, some more “work” to get done, definitely some good food to consume, and some outdoor time to be had (just wish it wasn’t so gosh darn cold).  Though it’s been busy, and out of routine, and tiring, I’m pretty sure that come Monday, we will have pretty well adjusted to all being together and want more.

Ah… such is the good life.

Leave a Reply

