Distractions

Sometimes I find myself feeling consumed by something from afar. A fresh concept. A news story. A new social media feed or blog. An artist. A worldly worry.

Sometimes I find myself feeling consumed by my present experience. Potty training. Creating. Hiking. Cleaning house. Listening. Breathing. Laughing. Crying.

As our Balinese guide so eloquently taught us about our experiences in life, "It's not good or bad. It just is."

It is a fact that my life was not unique or ordinary. It just was. It was (and continues to be) my life. Currently, my life is heavily influenced by my immediate family, and my father. Again. Not good or bad. It just is.

And when faced with experiences that I would consider distractions, I try to remind myself that it's not good or bad. It just is. And better yet, if I can step outside of myself, I can even find a lesson tucked in there, waiting for me to discover myself in a new light.

So, while life is made up of many distractions, I try to take the lessons each experience offers and remind myself that it is rarely good or bad. It, life, just is. And it is my intention to learn from it as best as I can.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

